PerkinElmer uses cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience possible on our website. This may include cookies from third party websites. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you consent to receive cookies from this website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. To learn more, please review our cookie policy, which includes information on how to manage your cookies.

Marcel Golay & Leslie Ettre Awards

Marcel Golay

The Marcel Golay Award was instituted in honor of Marcel Jules Eduard Golay, the inventor of capillary columns. Dr. Golay, one of the pioneers of gas chromatography, introduced the theory of dispersion in open tubular columns (capillary columns) and demonstrated their efficacy at the second International Symposium on Gas Chromatography in 1958. Dr. Golay joined PerkinElmer in 1962 as a senior scientist, and invented the Golay infrared sensor, which, at the time was the most sensitive infrared sensor available. Golay's invention helped establish PerkinElmer as a major source of infrared technology. He also extended the theory of preparative columns and examined the properties of various chromatography sampling systems. The open tubular gas chromatography column is the most popular analytical gas chromatography column in use today. Dr. Golay worked as a senior scientist at PerkinElmer up until his death in 1989. The Marcel Golay award is presented to a scientist in recognition of a lifetime of achievement in capillary chromatography.

2019 Marcel Golay Award Winner

The 2019 Marcel Golay Award was presented to Dr. Richard Smith, Director of Proteomics Research, a Battelle Fellow, and Chief Scientist for the Biological Sciences Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. While Dick would call himself a mass spectrometrist, the majority of his work has involved coupling mass spectrometry to capillary separations. His early research included the development of the combinations of both capillary supercritical fluid chromatography and capillary electrophoresis separations with mass spectrometry. Dick was a leader in the early development and use of high-resolution capillary LC combined with high resolution mass spectrometry for applications in proteomics and other biological models.

Some of his more recent research includes the development of structures for lossless ion manipulations (SLIM) for achieving much higher resolution ion mobility separations with mass spectrometry. This is used for increasing the speed, sensitivity and utility of omics measurements as well as other applications.

He is the author or co-author of more than 1,100 peer reviewed publications, holds 66 U.S. patents, and has received 12 R&D 100 awards, the most of any recipient. Among his many honors, Dr. Smith has also received the American Chemical Society Award for Analytical Chemistry, the HUPO Discovery Award in Proteomics Sciences, and the American Society for Mass Spectrometry Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry Awards.

Previous Marcel Golay Award Winners


Dr. Leonid Blumberg




Luigi Mondello

University of Messina, Messina, Italy



Robert E. Synovec

University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA



Daniel Armstrong

University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX, USA



Tyge Greibrokk

University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway



Robert Kennedy

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA



Paul Haddad

University of Tasmania, Sandy Bay TAS, Australia



Leslie Ettre

The Leslie Ettre Award was established in 2008 in honor of the late Leslie S. Ettre who worked at PerkinElmer for 32 years and made major contributions to gas chromatography (GC), including writing and editing over 40 books and almost 400 articles and papers. Ettre retired from PerkinElmer as Senior Scientist in 1990 but remained active in the science community as a professor and research fellow with the Chemical Engineering Department at Yale University for 16 years. He was a member of a number of editorial boards and continued to publish papers up until his death in June 2010.

The Leslie Ettre award is presented to a scientist 35 years old or younger who presented the most interesting original research in capillary gas chromatography with an emphasis on environmental and food safety. The winner of this award receives a research grant of $2,500, a $500 travel contribution to attend the next ISCC meeting and free registration at the next meeting. The winner is also invited to give an oral presentation at the next ISCC meeting. The jury for the award is chaired by Ruben Garnica, Gas Chromatography Product Manager for PerkinElmer, and includes several prominent scientists and previous award winners.

2019 Leslie Ettre Award Winner

The 2019 Leslie S. Ettre Award was presented to Nimisha Thakur, a student pursuing her PhD in analytical chemistry at the University of Texas at Arlington. Prior to beginning her PhD work, Nimisha received her master’s degree in chemistry from Panjab University in Chandigarh, India and completed an internship at the Bhaba Atomic Research Centre in Mumbai, India.

Nimisha has published four articles in peer-reviewed journals and has worked on synthesizing new pH stable stationary phases for high-performance liquid chromatography, tuning surface properties and porosity in ceramics and developing new adsorption media. Currently, Nimisha is working on interfacing a new detector based on microwave spectroscopy with gas chromatography.

Previous Leslie Ettre Award Winners


Andrea Walzl

Institute of Analytical Chemistry and Food Chemistry, Graz University of Technology



Keisean Stevenson

University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada



Cecelia Cagliero

University of Torino, Torino, Italy



Sander Jespers

Vrije Universiteit, Brussels, Belgium



Kari L. Organtini

Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA, USA



Dr. Anastasiia Kanatyeva

Institute of Petrochemical Synthesis, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia



Dr. Danilo Sciarrone

University of Messina, Messina, Italy



Ms. Dan Li

Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, USA